Senior Action Coalition

Senior Action Coalition

Senior Action Coalition
How Does Motorcycle Insurance Work In Texas?
Texas laws require motorists to maintain financial responsibility for any accidents that happen on the road. This means motorists must have liability insurance, whether they drive a truck, a car or a motorcycle. Motorists can...
Recovering from Whiplash
The effects of a whiplash injury is devastating on your life. Though many who suffer from whiplash recover on their own, many also must take time off from work in order to heal from their...
What Is Dental Malpractice?
The word "malpractice" elicits a powerful response among medical professionals, and dentists are no exception. While most dentists practice their entire careers without becoming defendants in a dental malpractice lawsuit, mistakes can happen to anybody....

How Does Motorcycle Insurance Work In Texas?

Spread the love

Texas laws require motorists to maintain financial responsibility for any accidents that happen on the road. This means motorists must have liability insurance, whether they drive a truck, a car or a motorcycle. Motorists can either purchase a motorcycle insurance policy or a vehicle liability insurance policy from state-licensed providers, such as a motorcycle accident lawyer from Texas.

How Does Motorcycle Insurance Work in Texas?

Texas laws have specific definitions for various vehicles which must be covered under liability insurance. A motorcycle, under Texas law, is a motorized vehicle with a saddle and runs on a maximum of three wheels. Their official classification is similar to passenger vehicles, with regard to registration and titling, as well as the requirements for insurance.

Insurance Requirements for Motorcycle Riders

Under Texas law, motorcycle riders must obtain liability coverage in the following minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 property damage cover/accident
  • $30,000 personal injury cover/injured person/accident
  • $60,000 personal injury cover total/accident

Remember, these refer to the minimum insurance requirements. It is up to the rider to choose how much insurance coverage to buy. Experts recommend taking insurance coverage above the minimum, and taking more than one type of insurance coverage for comprehensive protection.

Texas has an insurance verification program that shows drivers with current motorcycle coverage. This is a database formed with the help of state insurance agencies that submit insurance information to the system via a direct electronic method. If a motorist’s motorcycle insurance lapses or gets cancelled, the program sends out a notice, so the motorist can resolve the discrepancy.

Types of Motorcycle Insurance Coverage

Liability Insurance

This type of insurance pays the other party for any property or bodily damage suffered as a result of the crash or collision. If you get in an accident, for example, this policy covers repair payments for the other car, or the hospital bills of the party who was injured.

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage pays for repairs to both automobiles, or for the damage done on any property. Collision policies often have more specific provisions covering specific areas, such as property, medical coverage, and the like.

Comprehensive Cover

Comprehensive coverage pays for the other areas not covered by the first two types of policies. Comprehensive coverage provides compensation for theft, for example. Other instances in which this type of coverage may come in handy include damage to the vehicle arising from natural disasters, such as floods and fires.

When to Work with a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Texas

If you own and ride a motorcycle, having insurance coverage should be the first thing on your list before you get back out on the road. In the event that you get in an accident, your lawyer helps you navigate the complicated steps of proving and filing a claim. Your lawyer also helps you choose what kind of motorcycle insurance coverage is best for you.

Sources:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Two-wheeler_insurance

Why Some People Hate Accident Lawyers
There’s no shortage of unsavory names attributed to personal injury lawyers, but the real reason why people hate accident lawyers is a combination of public...
Read More

Recovering from Whiplash

The effects of a whiplash injury is devastating on your life. Though many who suffer from whiplash recover on their own, many also must take time off from work in order to heal from their injuries.

The most common cause of whiplash injuries is motor vehicle accidents, and when you got in a crash that was caused by the irresponsible actions of another, they may owe you compensation to cover your costs and replace the income you’ve lost by missing work.

Continue reading to learn more about how to recover after enduring whiplash, what steps to take to recover your losses, and how to file a claim for whiplash.

What Is Whiplash?

Whiplash is a neck injury that occurs when your head jerks forwards and backwards upon a sudden impact. The tendons, discs, nerve roots and ligaments of the cervical spine often become damaged and cause severe pain in the neck and shoulders.

Other symptoms of a whiplash injury might include headaches, dizziness, numbness and pain in the shoulders and arms, fatigue, problems with concentration and irritability, and stiffness in the neck. Diagnostic imaging by a CT scan or MRI is the best way to determine the extent of the damage caused by whiplash.

Ways Whiplash Will Be Treated

A number of ways to treat your whiplash injury exist, depending on the severity of the damage caused to your neck and spine.

For minor injuries, those suffering from whiplash benefit from over-the-counter pain relief medications such as naproxen or ibuprofen, in addition to applying ice to the neck and shoulders followed by gentle neck exercises that help move the affected portions of the cervical spine so they don’t become even more weak and immobile.

For more severe cases, your physician could order ongoing physical therapy, which helps increase the neck’s flexibility and strength, acupuncture. Or, they may order you to see a chiropractor, to manipulate the spine in the hopes of reducing pain and increasing your range of motion.

Also, in the most critical whiplash injury cases, physicians may treat your whiplash by giving you a cervical epidural steroid injection, a trigger point injection or a cervical facet joint injection to reduce your nerve inflammation and pain in irritated muscles.

You could also get a radiofrequency neurotomy treatment, where a doctor treats the affected nerves with heat. The process creates a lesion that prevents your joint from sending pain signals to your brain.

A Baton Rouge Car Accident Lawyer Can Help Secure Compensation You Deserve

As you might imagine, a whiplash injury is quite difficult to overcome. When another driver, or anyone else for that matter, is responsible for causing you harm, you recoup your damages by holding them accountable for their actions through the pursuit of a civil lawsuit.

Your attorney examines your losses in great detail, to ensure they take every cost, even those that may seem miniscule, into account when calculating the value of your claim. You can focus on recovering from your whiplash injury without the burden of financial anxiety.

Why Some People Hate Accident Lawyers
There’s no shortage of unsavory names attributed to personal injury lawyers, but the real reason why people hate accident lawyers is a combination of public...
Read More

What Is Dental Malpractice?

The word “malpractice” elicits a powerful response among medical professionals, and dentists are no exception. While most dentists practice their entire careers without becoming defendants in a dental malpractice lawsuit, mistakes can happen to anybody. This article defines what the term means, and recommends several “best practices” that can help prevent you from facing a lawsuit.

Many patients believe that dental malpractice refers to any care with which they are not satisfied. However, this is not the actual definition of the term. Malpractice is a legal concept, and therefore has a precise definition courts can enforce. In order to qualify as dental malpractice, the dental care provided must cause “serious personal injury” to the victim. This helps medical professionals by placing the burden of proof on the other side.

In a recent survey of dental malpractice claims, professionals discovered they are rare: only one in seven medical malpractice claims is brought against a dentist or oral surgeon. Contrary to what you may believe, complicated procedures are not often the root of these cases. Instead, simple tooth extractions are the most common issue.

Many dentists may rest on their laurels while performing such an easy procedure, but you cannot afford to grow complacent. Make sure to take a diagnostic X-ray of every tooth you’ve marked for extraction, and look for complicating factors, such as proximity to nerves or sinuses, and hooked or curved roots. If you’re not sure about your ability to successfully perform any procedure, it is perfectly acceptable to refer a patient to a dedicated specialist, instead.

Each patient is also a unique case. Do not treat them the same, unless their individual needs align.

Many dental malpractice claims also involve a lack of communication. All patients should be advised of any risks associated with their treatment, even if they’re very unlikely. You also need to obtain informed consent before doing anything. These tasks may seem menial, but they become vital if something goes awry.

You also need to own up to any errors you make. If a dental tool breaks and is irretrievable, or your hand slips, the patient should be informed at once, and referred to a specialist who can handle the issue. Not only will this procedure produce a better outcome for the patient, it’ll also hinder any effort to bring a dental malpractice claim against you.

Last, get into the habit of documenting everything. The resulting paper trail makes it very hard to prove negligence against you, while ensuring that you collect all the information you need. For instance, many of the dental malpractice claims in the study above were brought by smokers or ex-smokers. A history of tobacco use is a complicating factor for a variety of dental procedures. However, many of the dentists never asked for this vital information. That’s a great way to wind up in a courtroom.

Should a frivolous dental malpractice claim be brought against you, do not hesitate to consult with a dental malpractice lawyer at once. They have the experience and resources necessary to mount the rigorous defense your practice deserves.

Sources

  1. http://www.scielo.org.za/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pid=S0011-85162017000900009
  2. http://www.crainsdetroit.com/article/20100228/SUB01/302289995/top-verdicts-and-settlements-dental-malpractice

Fighting Nursing Home Abuse

Spread the love

Fighting Nursing Home Abuse

As horrific as it is, nursing home abuse is common. While you always hope your elderly relative will be properly cared for, this is not always the case.

That’s one reason it’s so important to visit a nursing home prior to placing a loved one there. Spending time speaking with other residents, in the facility, and even eating the food is a good way to get a feel for what it will be like. Reading reviews online can also be helpful.

Still, even after careful research, it is possible for a senior to be placed in an abusive nursing home or with a neglectful or abusive caregiver.

Is Your Relative Safe?

It’s important to ask this question on a regular basis. Never assume your loved one is in good hands with a caregiver or in a nursing home. Instead, take the time to verify that assumption.

If more than one person in the family can check in on mom or dad, you can all take turns conducting a basic examination to make sure your loved one is not showing signs of physical abuse. Signs of neglect should also be watched for. Finally, someone needs to be involved in monitoring your loved one’s finances for suspicious activity.

It is also wise to check with the licensing agency a couple times a year to see whether any official complaints have been filed or if the nursing home has been cited for any safety violations. If so, it will be time to consider whether this is the best environment or if your loved one would be better off elsewhere.

Signs of Nursing Home and Elder Abuse

Several signs can tell you that a loved one may be suffering abuse or neglect. These include the following:

  • Strange Bruising – This could indicate physical abuse or carelessness.
  • Bedsores – Typically, bedsores only develop when someone is left in the same position for days or even weeks without being moved.
  • Weight Loss – No one should rapidly lose weight in a nursing home or while in the care of another party. If your loved one does, it could be because he or she doesn’t like the food or isn’t being fed properly.
  • Health Deterioration – If your elderly loved one’s health suddenly deteriorates, this could be a sign of abuse or neglect.
  • Broken Bones or Sprains – Often a clear sign of abuse, broken bones demand immediate action.
  • Mood Swings – It’s important to look into any sudden mood shifts your loved one may be experiencing.
  • Being Frightened – Feelings of fear and anxiety often stem from abuse, so pay attention if your loved one begins acting fearful.

Financial abuse is also common, so keep tabs on bank accounts and watch for strange purchases or sudden balance decreases. Most seniors have relatively fixed expenses, so the accounts should look the roughly same every month.

What You Can Do About It

If your loved one is the victim of nursing home abuse or neglect, it’s important to take action right away. You can hire an attorney to file a lawsuit, put your loved one in another home, or hire someone else to care for him or her. Do not leave your elderly loved one in the potentially abusive situation.

Once your family member is safe, filing a lawsuit will make it possible to seek financial compensation for the impact the abuse has had on them.

You’ll Need a Lawyer

Sometimes contractual provisions make it difficult to move a senior or place him or her in a better situation. In this case, it becomes important to hire a nursing home abuse attorney who can handle the process. After all, this is not a time to worry about contracts or the legal details of a situation. It’s the time to get your loved one to safety and away from abusers.

How Car Insurance Works in Texas

Spread the love

Just like in any other state, Texas calls on at-fault drivers to pay for the damages they caused. It can be a challenge to produce the money in an emergency, so the insurance companies come in to help hasten the process. Motorists must get insurance coverage that follows the fiscal responsibility laws. Here’s how car insurance works in Texas:

Texas Minimum Coverage Requirements

Simply having insurance isn’t enough. It should be able to meet the minimum criteria for the motorists to avoid any punishments. It must cover liabilities from the accident of at least $30,000 for a single person. This goes up to $60,000 is there is more than one person injured in the collision.

As for the property damage, the lower limit is $25,000 per accident. This should be enough to pay for most dents, scratches, and other minor issues. However, it will be inadequate in the case of total wrecks. The driver will have to take care of the balance himself.

Other Types of Coverage

Note that liability insurance goes toward the other driver and not the holder of the policy. In case the policy holder gets injured, liability coverage will not do him any good. Personal Injury Protection coverage will take care of this instead. Insurance providers offer it by default, but people can opt out if they want to.

To pay for the damages to your own car, you can get either collision coverage or comprehensive coverage. The latter will take care of problems that result from things like flood, fire, theft, hail, vandalism, falling objects, and so on. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can keep you afloat in case you suffer from an accident where the at-fault driver has no liability insurance. Car accident injuries deserve financial compensation so do hire a lawyer if you feel that you need to.

Factors Affecting Premium

Insurance providers calculate the premium on an individual basis. You will need to fill up a long questionnaire to give them pertinent details about your background. Certain demographics are more prone to accidents than others so belonging to these groups means higher payments. The type of car driven, its primary use, and current location are also vital considerations. Even your credit score and insurance record can affect the rate.

Available Discounts

Everybody wants to pay as little as they can for insurance. You can do this by sticking to the minimum values acceptable by law and getting as many discounts as possible with your provider. Most companies will look kindlier upon clients that have taken defensive driving courses, safe driving records, multiple vehicle policies, anti-theft devices, safety accessories, anti-lock brakes, high grades for students, and so on. For more information, contact the Texas Department of Insurance.

LINKS:

  1. https://www.tdi.texas.gov/pubs/consumer/cb020.html
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_Department_of_Insurance